2018 Nigeria Open Seeding Lists Unveiled By ITTF

12 candidates for media workshop

Nigeria Open logo | ITTF Nigeria Open media

The International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) has unveiled the seeding list for the 2018 Nigeria Open holding on August 8 to 12 at the Molade Okoya-Thomas Hall of Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos.

Also, 12 undergraduates from Nigerian highest institutions have been selected for the media workshop. This being one of the legacies of the Africa’s elite tournament. They are expected to undergo a one-day training – with the best four selected for an internship during the five-day championship.

169 players made up of 108 men and 61 women from 27 countries will be competing at the $46,000 prize money championship. The tournament is the second highest prize money among the nine ITTF Challenge Series.

Nigeria’s Aruna Quadri is top-seed | ITTF Nigeria Open Media

In the men’s singles, 32 players made the seeding with Nigeria’s Aruna Quadri seeded number one, being the highest ranked player in the competition, while Russia’s Alexey Liventsov is number two seed. Other players that made the top 10 seeding list are 2016 Champion – Finalnd’s Benedek Olah (3), Brazil’s Thiago Monteiro (4), England’s Samuel Walker (5), France’s Alexandre Robinot (6), Argentina’s Horacio Cifuentes (7), Hungary’s Tamas Lakatos (8), Scotland’s Gavin Rumgay (9) and Thailand’s Supanut Wisutmaythangkoon (10).

Veteran, Oshonaike is in top 10. (Facebook/Funke Oshonaike)

Olufunke Oshonaike is the only Nigerian that made the top 10 seeding list of the women’s singles with Thailand’s Suthasini Sawettabut seeded as number one. 2016 Champion – Hungary’s Szandra Pergel is seeded number two. Others are Italy’s Giorgia Piccolin (3), Luxembourg’s Sarah De Nutte (4), Italy’s Debora Vivarelli (5), Slovenia’s Alex Galic (6), Colombia’s Paula Medina (7), Nigeria’s Oshonaike (8), Norway’s Ilka Doval (9) and Egypt’s Yousra Helmy (10).

In the U-21 categories, defending champion in the men category – Romania’s Rares Sipos is the number one while Norway’s Ilka Doval is the number one seed in the women division.

2018 African Youth Games bronze medalist, Esther Oribamise is the only Nigerian listed in the top eight players seeded in the women’s U-21.

Furthermore, three Nigerian players – Rilwan Akanbi, Nurudeen Hassan and Joshua Oladiran made the seeding list in the men’s U-21.

See full Seeding lists for 2018 Nigeria Open below:

2018 ITTF Challenge Nigeria Open Seeding List


Don’t forget to bookmark and follow us on our social media channels.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here