5 Days To Go! World Cup Safe Hands

From Yashin to Banks; Kahn to Buffon, we present to you the safest hands in the history of the FIFA World Cup

Top Media Nigeria recognise some of the best goalkeepers from the FIFA World Cup


As the build up to the 2018 FIFA World Cup continues, Top Media Nigeria recognise some of the best goalkeepers from the competition’s rich list of great goalkeepers. From saves that changed the world, to moments that leave you agape. We’ve got you covered. Enjoy!!

1. Lev Yashin (Soviet Union)

The FIFA World Cup ‘Golden Glove’ award is named after Yashin | Football Shirt Collective

Just as Gianluigi Buffon remains the greatest goalkeeper never to have won the UEFA Champions League, Yashin is the greatest goalkeeper never to have lifted the FIFA World Cup trophy.

Nicknamed ‘the black spider’, Yashin played in three consecutive World Cups – 1958, 1962 and 1966 and he has now had the tournament’s ‘Golden Glove’ award named after him.

FIFA also revealed the official poster for the 2018 World Cup in Russia (former Soviet Union), unveiling a vintage design of Yashin in flight.

2. Gordon Banks (England)

Banks made one of the most iconic saves in World Cup history | FIFA.com

Undoubtedly, a World Cup legend, Banks was instrumental to England’s triumphant campaign in 1966 – their first and only trophy till date. Four years later, the most memorable save of his career came against Pele at the 1970 World Cup.

And Banks would later say: ‘I thought I’d got lucky with that Pele save – now it makes me proud.’

3. Dino Zoff (Italy)

Zoff is the oldest winner ever of the World Cup | Pinterest

A member of four Italy World Cup squads, Zoff skippered the Azzurri to the trophy in 1982 aged 40. He also holds the record for the longest playing time without conceding in international football – 1142 minutes.

4. Oliver Kahn (Germany)

Kahn was a star at Japan/Korea 2002 | Getty Images

The German is the only keeper in World Cup history to have won the ‘Golden Ball’ award, scooping the prize for his performances at the 2002 World Cup, where Germany were finalists.

Kahn is known for his eccentricity and charismatic leadership from the back, which often saw him roar like a lion.

5. Iker Casillas (Spain)

Casillas captained his country to their first ever world cup title in South Africa | National Turk

Casillas has four World Cups under his belt with Spain. He captained his country to glory in 2010, conceding only two goals and keeping five clean sheets.

Known for his quick reactions, Casillas has won the IFFHS World’s Best Goalkeeper Award for a joint-record five times.

6. Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)

Buffon was pivotal to Italy’s success in Germany 2006 | Getty Images

When Italy lifted the World Cup trophy in 2006, Buffon was central to their triumphant campaign, conceding just two goals over the entire tournament.

Alongside Casillas, ‘Gigi’ been named in the IFFHS World’s Best Goalkeeper a record five times.

He holds the record for the most clean sheets with the Italy national team.

During the 2006 World Cup finals, Buffon was in excellent form, he posted a 453-minute scoreless streak, only 64 minutes short of compatriot Walter Zenga ‘s all-time unbeaten record from the 1990 World Cup.

The only goals he conceded were not in open play; an own goal by teammate Cristian Zaccardo after a free-kick against the United States in Italy’s second match of the group stage, and a Zinedine Zidane penalty in the final against France.

In the final, Buffon later made an important save in extra time on a header from eventual
Golden Ball winner Zidane.

He received the Yashin Award as the best goalkeeper of the tournament, producing 40 saves, and was elected to the Team of the Tournament.

7. Fabien Barthez (France)

Barthez shares the record for the most World Cup finals clean sheets with Peter Shilton, with ten | FIFA.com

The legendary goalkeeper kept a joint-record ten clean sheets at the FIFA World Cup. The now-racing driver didn’t concede in 10 of his 17 World Cup appearances.

Three FIFA World Cup appearances saw him lift the Trophy in 1998 and reaching the Final again in 2006.


Feel free to add yours in our comments section below.


Don’t forget to bookmark and follow us on our social media channels.