Rangers International of Enugu have won the 2018 Aiteo Cup in scintillating fashion after coming back from three goals down to win on penalties against Kano Pillars at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba, Delta state – Nigeria, Wednesday.

At full time, scoreline was 3-3. However, Rangers claimed the trophy winning 4-2 on penalties.

Captain Rabiu Ali fired Pillars into the lead as early as the 5th minute through a Nyima Nwagua’s assist. His goal came off the crossbar and nestled into Femi Thomas’ net.

Pillars doubled their lead in the 20th minute when a Ibrahim Alhassan’s corner kick was pushed in by Thomas in goal for the Flying Antelopes.

Three minutes into the second half, the provider of Masu Gida‘s first goal, Nwagua extended his side’s lead to three nil. Nwagua shrugged off a challenge from defender, Okey Odita after a flick from Junior Lokosa to score.

Rangers came back to life in the 77th minute when Kelvin Itoya’s screamer went in off the upright.

Then, eight minutes to the end of normal time, Chidera Ezeh dragged Gbenga Ogunbote’s wards back into contention when he tucked in. That provided a spectacular finale to the match.

The unbelievable comeback was completed in additional time (90+1) as Ajani Ibrahim netted to spark wild celebrations in the stadium.

Referee, Adebimpe Quadri, 25 brought the match to an end and the two teams went straight to penalties which Rangers came out on top.

Last year’s final, which marked the first time the competition would be called AITEO Cup following the acquisition of the naming right by Nigeria’s leading energy solution group, was at the Agege Stadium and Akwa United of Uyo prevailed over Niger Tornadoes after penalty shoot –out under floodlights.

This year, among dignitaries that graced the final of the 73-year old glamour National Football Cup are Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State and his Enugu and Kano State counterparts – Governors Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi and Deputy-Governor Dr. Nasiru Gawuna respectively. Others are President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) and CAF 1st Vice President, Amaju Pinnick, NFF 1st Vice Chairman, Seyi Akinwunmi and other members of NFF’s Executive Committee.



1945: Marine 1 -0 Corinthians
1946: Lagos Railways 3-1 Port Harcourt FC
1947: Lagos Marine 3-1 Lagos Railways
1948: Lagos Railways 1-0 Warri XI
1949: Lagos Railways 3-0 Port Harcourt FC
1950: Lagos UAC 3-2 Port Harcourt FC
1951: Lagos Railways 3-2 Mighty Jets
1952: PAN Bank 6-0 Warri
1953: Kano XI 2-1 Lagos Dynamos


1954: Calabar 3-0 Kano XI
1955: Port Harcourt FC 4-1 Warri
1956: Lagos Railways 3-1 Warri
1957: Lagos Railways 5-1 Zaria
1958: Port Harcourt FC 6-0 Federal United
1959: Ibadan Lions 1-0 Police


1960: Lagos ECN 5-2 Ibadan Lions
1961: Ibadan Lions 1-0 Lagos UAC
1962: Police 1-0 Mighty Jets
1963: Port Harcourt FC 1-0 Mighty Jets
1964: Lagos Railways 3-1 Mighty Jets
1965: Lagos ECN 3-1 Mighty Jets
1966: Ibadan Lions W/O Mighty Jets
1967: Stationery Stores 3-1 Mighty Jets
1968: Stationery Stores 3-1 Warri
1969: Ibadan Lions 5-1 Warri
1970: Lagos ECN 3-1 Mighty Jets
1971: WNDC Ibadan 2-1 Enugu Rangers
1972: Bendel Insurance 3-2 Mighty Jets
1973: -All Africa Games
1974: Enugu Rangers 2-0 Mighty Jets
1975: Enugu Rangers 1-0 Shooting Stars
1976: Enugu Rangers 2-0 Alyufsalam Rocks
1977: Shooting Stars 2-0 Raccah Rovers
1978: Bendel Insurance 3-0 Enugu Rangers
1979: Shooting Stars 2-0 Sharks FC
1980: Bendel Insurance 1-0 Stationery Stores
1981: Enugu Rangers 2-0 Bendel Insurance
1982: Stationery Stores 4-1 Niger Tornadoes
1983: Enugu Rangers 0-0 DIC Bees
*Rangers won 5-4 on penalty shootout
1984: Leventis United 1-0 Abiola Babes
1985: Abiola Babes 0-0 BCC Lions
*Abiola Babes won 6 – 5 on penalty shootout
1986: Leventis United 1-0 Abiola Babes
1987: Abiola Babes 1-1 Ranchers Bees
*Abiola Babes won 7-6 on penalty shootout
1988: Iwuanyanwu 3-0 Flash Flamingoes
1989: BCC Lions 1-0 Iwuanyanwu
1990 Stationery Stores 0-0 Enugu Rangers
*Stores won 5-4 on penalty shootout
1991: El-Kanemi Warriors 3-2 Kano Pillars FC
1992: El-Kanemi 1-0 Stationery Stores
1993: BCC Lions 1-0 Plateau United
1994: BCC Lions 1-0 Julius Berger FC
1995: Shooting Stars 2-0 Katsina United
1996: Julius Berger 1-0 Katsina United
1997: BCC Lions 1-0 Katsina United
1998: Wikki Tourists 0-0 Plateau United
1999: Plateau United 1-0 Iwuanyanwu
2000: Tornadoes 1-0 Rangers
2001: Dolphins FC 2-0 El-Kanemi
2002: Julius Berger 3-0 Yobe Stars
2003: Lobi Stars 2-0 Sharks FC
2004: Dolphins FC 1-0 Enugu Rangers
2005: Enyimba 1-1 Lobi Stars
*Enyimba won 6-5 on penalty shootout
2006: Dolphins FC 2-2 Bendel Insurance
*Dolphin won 5-3 on penalty shootout
2007: Dolphins FC 1-1 Enugu Rangers
* Dolphin won 3-2 on penalty shootout
2008: Ocean Boys 2-2 Gombe United
* Ocean Boys won 7-6 on penalty shootout


2009: Enyimba 1-0 Sharks FC
2010: Kaduna United 3-3 Enyimba
* Kaduna United won 3-2 on penalty shootout
2011: Heartland 1-0 Enyimba
2012: Heartland 2-1 Lobi Stars
2013 Enyimba 2-2 Warri Wolves
*Enyimba won 5-4 on penalty shootout
2014: Enyimba 2-1 Dolphins FC
2015: Akwa United 2-1 Lobi Stars
2016: FC IfeanyiUbah 0-0 Nassarawa United
*FC IfeanyiUbah won 5-4 on penalty shootout
2017: Akwa United 0-0 Niger Tornadoes
*Akwa United won 3-2 on penalties

2018: Rangers 3-3 Kano Pillars

* Rangers won 4-2 on penalties


Don’t forget to bookmark and follow us on our social media channels.