Egypt and Liverpool star, Mohamed Salah has retained his crown of king of African football.

The third best player in the world (according to FIFA) claimed the honour at the Aiteo CAF Awards 2018 which took place in the Senegalese capital of Dakar on Tuesday night.

Salah, the overwhelming favourite, was named winner ahead of clubmate Sadio Mane (Senegal) and Arsenal’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon) – the same men he won against in Accra last time out.

Egypt Superstar, Mo Salah
Egypt Superstar, Mo Salah

It is the second time Salah who is held in high esteem in his homeland would receive the trophy as he won it for the first time last year.

The 26 year old enjoyed a stellar debut campaign at Anfield in 2017-18 season, with his efforts seeing him end the season with an enviable haul of honour.

Salah has become a global phenomenon with his exploits during a remarkable debut season with the Reds seeing him showered with encomiums and prestigious awards. He won the 2018 BBC African Footballer of the Year award for the second year in a row last month while adding the FIFA Puskás Award at The Best FIFA Football Awards last September in London.

Furthermore, his roll of honour include being named the PFA Player of the Year 2017-18, Premier League Player of last Season as well as FWA Footballer of the Year 2017-18.

The former Chelsea and Roma forward won the Premier League Golden Boot with 32 goals in May 2018 and scored 10 Champions League goals as Liverpool reached the final. He also scored both of Egypt’s goals at the World Cup, Russia 2018.

Tagged ‘a one season wonder’, Salah has maintained his personal bar at its current height this term, creating a place in Anfield folklore. He currently has 16 goals in 28 games in all competitions for his Premier League table-topping side.

The event, held at the Abdou Diouf International Conference Center and anchored by renowned media personalities, Isha Sesay and Aboubacry Ba also saw South Africa’s Thembi Kgatlana dethrone Asisat Oshoala as the continent’s soccer queen.


Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year

Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)
Youth Player of the YearAchraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd)

Men’s Coach of the Year
Herve Renard (Morocco)

Women’s Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Men’s National Team of the Year


Women’s National Team of the Year


Platinum Award
His Excellency Macky Sall (President of the Republic of Senegal)

Federation President of the Year 
Fouzi Lekjaa

Goal of the Year
Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)


Be sure to bookmark and follow us on our social media channels.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here